January 28, 2013

January 28, 2013

As with plants of all kinds, I love animals of all kinds (except domesticated cats and purse dogs, sorry cat lovers and ankle-biter football lovers, lol). I especially love seeing and hearing beautiful birds throughout the day, and since out bird feeders out back were lacking nourishment for my flying friends, I went to the local home improvement store and bought a back of seeds.

That’s when I had the idea of trying to grow sunflower seeds. I grabbed 10 of them from the bag, and put them in the bowl you see in the photo. The bowl is lined with saran wrap, then I added a thin layer of potting soil, propped each seed in, added more soil then water, and then closed it off with more saran wrap. I wasn’t sure if it would work, but the proof is in the pudding, even it is just one sprout.

I don’t know what variety of sunflower it is. All I know is that the seed is smaller than the edible kind you eat as a snack, and its solid black, instead of the striped kind again found in the snack pack. I just hope that they grow up big and tall.

Wish me luck!

